Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) Nursing School

Filed in Nursing by on August 6, 2020 0 Comments

Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) Nursing School Overview.

Cape Peninsula University of Technology (CPUT) Nursing School

This post covers information about CPUT Nursing Science Program, Career Opportunities, Admission Requirements, and Contact Details of Staff member, Designation, Office number and Email address.

Bachelor degree

The aim of the course is to prepare and develop nurse practitioners (graduate nurse and midwife) equipped with the knowledge, skills, and professional values to meet the health care needs of people of all ages, thereby contributing to the transformation of society. The graduate nurse will reflect an understanding of the social, cultural, and economic context of our country while conforming to standards of professional nursing practices.

The curriculum is designed to prepare graduate nurses and midwifery practitioners, who are equipped to meet the increasing health needs as well as health-related problems, of multicultural populations in a wide variety of health care settings while considering the current and future social, cultural and economic contexts of the country.

Career Opportunities

Completion of the Degree provides access to post-graduate qualifications offered at Universities in the field or where appropriate cognate fields eg Nursing Education; Nursing Management; Primary Health Care; Oncology Nursing; Theatre Nursing, Intensive Care Nursing, Occupational Health Care. There are various career opportunities in the Private and Public Health Care sectors.

Vertical articulation possibilities are for Master’s programmes by a research thesis focusing on specific specialization in nursing.

Admission Requirements

All learner nurses entering the nursing programme will require a pass with a D (Matriculation before 2008) or Level 4 (Matriculation from 2008) aggregate in line with the Western Cape Provincial Administration bursary requirements at the Grade 12 Level (FET certificate or Grade 12 (Matric) certificate with an APS score of minimum 30 and permission as indicated on the Grade 12 certificate to register for a Bachelor degree to register for the B Tech: Nursing Science degree.

Specific subjects required and achievement Levels are: English (4); Life Sciences OR Physical Science (4); Mathematics (4) or Mathematics Literacy (5).

In addition to the above requirements, you will need to provide proof of your first completed Hepatitis B immunization schedule, South African Nursing Council (SANC) related forms, and proof of payment to SANC and CPUT, and proof of indemnity at a professional organization or union.

CONTACT DETAILS

Staff member Title Designation Office number Email address
Karien Jooste Prof Head of the Nursing Science Department 0219596391 kjooste1@gmail.com
Zintle Tyali Ms Departmental Secretary 0219596274 tyaliz@cput.ac.za
 Reception     0219594411
Regis Rugira Marie Modeste Dr Head of Post Graduate Programmes and Nursing Research 0219596494 mariemodester@cput.ac.za
June Adams Mrs Post Graduate Administrator 0219596183 adamsju@cput.ac.za
Hilda Vember Dr Senior Lecturer 0219596155 vemberh@cput.ac.za
Barennise Arries Mrs Lecturer 0219538644 arriesb@cput.ac.za
Natalie Copeling Mrs Lecturer 0219538460 copelingn@cput.ac.za
Margot Pretorius Mrs Lecturer 0219596093 pretoriusm@cput.ac.za
Sibusiso Ningi Mr Under Graduate Administrator 0219538426 ningis@cput.ac.za
Chantal Julius Mrs Lecturer  0219594410 juliusc@cput.ac.za
Nqatyiswa Sineke Ms Lecturer  0219594414 sineken@cput.ac.za
Shahnaaz Mia Mrs Lecturer  0219594414 mias@cput.ac.za
Chantal Settley Ms Lecturer  0219594456 settleyc@cput.ac.za
Suveena Singh Ms Lecturer  0219594413 singhs@cput.ac.za
Amy Williams Ms Lecturer 0219594414 williamsam@cput.ac.za
Wendy Phiri Dr Lecturer 021959 phiriw@cput.ac.za
Beena Abrahams Mrs Clinical Mentor  0219594457 abrahamsb@cput.ac.za
Pathiswa Mtshali Ms Clinical Mentor 0219596060 mtshalip@cput.ac.za
Ruby Mathura Mrs Clinical Mentor 0219596060 mathurab@cput.ac.za
CONNECT WITH US: Like our Facebook Page, Follow Us On Twitter.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *